Former Player Wayne Powell Update –

It’s always good to see former Tech players suceeding, especially when they were good people like Wayne Powell. This is from the Alexandria Towntalk:

There weren’t many places left for the game of basketball to take Wayne Powell

After a successful career at Louisiana Tech and stints as pro in Hungary, Germany. Dubai and Saudi Arabia, the former Peabody Warhorse had only one place left to go … home.

And that’s where Powell went, back to the Peabody bench as an assistant to coach Charles Smith.

“It’s always great to come home,” Powell said. “I’ve been around the world and back. It’s great to be home again.”

“Coach Smith had such an impact on my life. I feel like maybe I can come back and make an impact on one of these kids’ lives with the things I’ve learned abroad.”

One thing that will be impacted is Powell’s wallet, as the former all-state performer is working as a volunteer for a grateful Smith..

Read more

Leave a comment